Have you ever tried...

Please share your knowledge on how to keep your vintage gloves in great shape and looking sharp.

Have you ever tried...

Postby burker72 » September 29th, 2007, 8:30 pm

Has anyone out there ever tried to dye a glove? I have a Rawlings Turley TG 24 model that I'd like to use for softball. The leather is in great shape, but the previous owner wrote his name on it about 10 times. I am not afraid to lose the stampings and I think the leather will be receptive dying - it is very soft. Has anyone ever done this before, and if you have could you offer some advice on how to do it...thanks. The glove would look great in all black, but I'd rather not ruin it.
burker72
Veteran Glove Poster

Dye Trying

Postby GloveGypsy » September 29th, 2007, 10:46 pm

Good luck with your attempt to dye the glove. I have never done this before and will follow this thread.

Right now I am wondering two things:

1. Could you possibly find someone to do this professionally, yet at an affordable price. Perhaps an auto upholstery guy, a shoe repair place, or a leather dry-cleaners. It may be worth a few phone calls before you douse it with Fiebings leather dye.

2. I often wonder what causes a person to ink up a ball glove, or for that matter any other personal possession, in multiple places. Is it because they are afraid that someone will take their glove by accident? Not by accident?

If inked in only one spot, that can possibly be rubbed out, but if inked in 10 spots, there is no taking that much ink out and there is no misunderstanding about who owns the glove....in this life or the next.

I have always appreciated it, when I find a glove whose prior owner discreetly marked it on the inside or under a thumb loop.

My game use glove is a Wilson A2000 XXL and I am very attached to it. Best said, it is a catching machine. My name is not on it. If I leave it out of my sight, I know I am not getting it back.
GloveGypsy
Veteran Glove Poster

a dyed Rawlings