What to do, or not do, with this D & M?2

Please share your knowledge on how to keep your vintage gloves in great shape and looking sharp.

What to do, or not do, with this D & M?2

Postby TheBaseballCollector » August 1st, 2008, 10:34 pm

[/img]http://www.michaelemmons.com/BaseballGloves.html[/img]

Hi all!

I am new to "serious" glove collecting, though for years I have had several older gloves from the 30s - 50s that I had as part of my general collection. (I collect old uniforms, old bats, autographed balls, old programs, older baseball cards.....anything "old" and baseball related).

I just picked up this old Draper & Maynard glove (you may have seen it on eBay last week), and wondered what you all think about the possibilities of conditioning, and/or preserving, this glove. Though I am far from an expert, I am pretty sure it is a child's size glove since I can't get my hand into it. The glove is VERY thin, and the leather is very soft, but as you will see in the pics, the leather is cracked/flaking in some spots. Based on the pics, what would you do, if anything, with this glove?

I already own some Goo Gone and a couple of tubes of lanolin cream, which I have used on some of my "less collectible" gloves (might post on those later -- not sure I'm doing it right), but not sure I should touch this D & M glove with either of those products. Any thoughts?

[/img]http://www.michaelemmons.com/BaseballGloves.html[/img][/img]
TheBaseballCollector
Rookie Glove Poster

Let's try a link for photos...

Postby TheBaseballCollector » August 1st, 2008, 10:38 pm

OK, I guess I do not understand how to post the pics, let me try the link...

http://www.michaelemmons.com/BaseballGloves.html
TheBaseballCollector
Rookie Glove Poster

Postby ebbets55 » August 1st, 2008, 11:43 pm

Hi Michael,