I'd like your thoughts on great sports rivalries...

Share your bats, catchers equipment, trophies, pinbacks, pennants, etc., discuss sports or other collecting interests

I'd like your thoughts on great sports rivalries...

Postby rmiller » November 18th, 2008, 5:02 pm

This week I have had many conversations at work about the upcoming rivalry college football games around the country this weekend and next. This has led to talking about sports rivalries in general, including baseball- Yankees/Red Sox, Dodgers/Giants, etc and other sports.

I am a University of Utah graduate, and we play BYU, our arch rival this weekend. It does not get the national exposure of some other great sports rivalries, but I assure you it’s a great one! I work in recreation on a university campus, so this kind of conversation just lends itself to the kind of work I do.

Some general things that have come up this week as we have been talking about this have been:

What constitutes a great rivalry in sport?
Why does it have to get mean spirited, personal, and nasty?
If there is civility between the two sides, does that mean it’s not as big a rivalry as others?

Any thoughts on this and other great sports rivalries? I’ll be at the BYU/Utah game this Saturday. Be looking for me. I’ll be the one wearing red.
Give us the gate key. I have no gate key.
Fezzik, tear his arms off. Oh, you mean this gate key!
rmiller
Veteran Glove Poster

Postby robin_buckeye » November 18th, 2008, 9:22 pm

Ohio State - Michigan football has to be near the top. There's even a book -- "The Hundred Yard War."
Last edited by robin_buckeye on November 19th, 2008, 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
robin_buckeye
Veteran Glove Poster

Rivalries

Postby cubfaithful » November 19th, 2008, 12:07 am