Changing Hands

Share your antique show, flea market, garage sale, dumpster dive finds in this section. Post pictures of your most recent additions.

Changing Hands

Postby Yanks23 » May 24th, 2016, 12:08 pm

Greetings all. As a new collector (relative to many of you on the Forum), I have found myself completely addicted to checking the “Glove of the Month” section on a daily basis (hat tip to Mike Tinney for keeping it going!) to see what new stuff is popping up. Also as a newbie, I love going back through the archives to see what gloves/mitts have surfaced over the years, what the corresponding dialogues were surrounding them, etc. And that got me thinking (scary, indeed). There may very well be a lot of folks in my shoes who are not aware of the great gloves that have surfaced and changed hands over the years. And the stories that go along with them. Just based on many of the conversations I have had with fellow hobbyists, the gloves/mitts have a pretty interesting history once they circulate throughout the hobby. And I believe there are a lot of cool stories that can be shared by those who acquire a glove/mitt that has already been in the hobby…in terms of why it was of interest to that person, how it fits in their collection, etc. In addition, I’d be willing to bet that many in the hobby would enjoy seeing where different gloves/mitts wind up, and maybe even chime in about when they once owned it or what-not.