Anything related to gloves (pre-1970) you can post here.

Postby Bleacher Bum » June 3rd, 2006, 12:14 pm

Hello,

I recently joined the forum after purchasing a glove from VintageBrett (great guy). I am new to the glove and vintage baseball collecting world. I have always had a love for baseball and now that I have an 8 year old son, I can be a kid again and play quite a bit. I play alot of softball in some rec. leagues and coach my son's little league team.

I recently had a great uncle pass away who played minor league ball back in the late 40s early 50s in the Three-I League (Iowa, Indiana, Illinois). What started me collecting was when my father brought out an old Rawlings TG 36 Trap-Eze glove endorsed by Hank Bauer that my great uncle had purchased for him when he was young. At the time, this glove was suposedly a top-of-the-line model. The glove was used heavily, which has given it character over time. This was my first attempt at relacing a glove and I am pretty happy with the way it turned out. Since working on this glove, I have purchased a few at local antique dealers, rummage sales, and of course eBay. To date I have a dozen or so gloves, five wood bats, and a bunch of autograph and vintage baseballs.

As you can see from my "Wanted" post, I am interested in collecting Nokona gloves. The only disclaimer is that I have a wife who will kill me if I go overboard on purchases. She is a great woman, therefore I admittedly state that she has to keep me under control or I will go nuts. Bless her heart for putting up with me!!

I noticed in one post that there is an expert in cleaning and restoring old bats. I just picked up a Trio Hollander Model bat with a Dick McAuliffe endorsement and could use some advise on how to get the Duct tape reminants off of the handle. This bat is in really good shape but just needs some cleaning. Any advise would be much appreciated.