Strange looking Goldsmith split finger fielders glove

Anything related to gloves (pre-1970) you can post here.

Strange looking Goldsmith split finger fielders glove

Postby crackofthebat » April 26th, 2006, 7:41 pm

Recently purchased this split finger Goldsmith glove off eBay. The person selling the glove told me the previous owner was a minor league player for Ashland or Maysville. The glove is horsehide with no model number. The webbing, although completely missing, was very similar to the oven mitts of the late 30's and early 40's. The glove has 23 grommet holes running around the thumb to the top of the index finger. From pieces of the web remaining it was cross laced between the thumb and index finger like a 1B oven mitt. If anybody has seen a web on a split finger fielder's glove like this and has some info as to when it was made I would appreciate hearing from you. I've been collecting gloves for 16 years and have never run across a glove like this.
crackofthebat
Veteran Glove Poster

Postby vintagebrett » April 26th, 2006, 7:55 pm

What does the stamping say? Does it say "The Snare Model" like some of the later MacGregor Goldsmith gloves?
vintagebrett
Site Admin

Postby crackofthebat » April 27th, 2006, 6:11 am

It does have other stampings like a Goldsmith glove, but from what I can read it looks like Snapper model. I have sent the glove to John Golomb, The Sports Doctor, to replace the lining. When I get it back and clean it up I will describe the stampings.
crackofthebat
Veteran Glove Poster

Postby softball66 » April 28th, 2006, 9:38 am

I've discussed this glove with Fred. Can't find anything like it among my Goldsmith gloves. The "Snare" and similar types show that Goldsmith was trying some interesting crosshatch lacing. I had a "Red" Lucas Goldsmith that I thought might be similar but I think it was using replaced lacing (only) and perhaps was a double tunnel or triple tunnel web in its original state.
Joe
softball66
Hall of Famer Glove Poster