Hello from Massachusetts

Anything related to gloves (pre-1970) you can post here.

Hello from Massachusetts

Postby wjr953 » September 12th, 2006, 3:13 pm

I am a new member on this board. I've been buying older gloves and
relacing/reconditioning them for resale, usually on Ebay. I've been doing this for about two years now. I don't make any money at this, just about enough to pay for my supplies. I have always loved the game of baseball. After playing, coaching, managing and finally umpiring, I got into glove work initially just to get some decent older gloves for my two grandsons. Well, it turned into a hobby that is really a lot of fun for me, giving new life to older gloves. It's just my way of giving something back to the game of baseball. It's nice to be on board, I look forward to talking with everyone.

br
wjr953

Postby vintagebrett » September 12th, 2006, 8:31 pm

Hello!

Thanks for joining. Sounds like you really enjoy what you are doing. There are a lot of people on this board who also enjoy cleaning up gloves - please share your experiences because it's always great to learn a new technique.
vintagebrett
Site Admin

Postby BretMan » September 20th, 2006, 3:57 pm

Hi Bill!

I totally missed this post and didn't realize that you had signed-up for the forum. It was good corresponding with you through emails for the past week and sharing some tips and stories on gloves.

Through all of our discussions, it never came up that you were into umpiring. Me too! I have state certification for high school baseball (NFHS) and also have ASA softball certification.

It's a lot of fun but has one drawback. It takes so much time in the spring, summer and fall that it cuts into my baseball glove searches and restorations!

Bret S.
BretMan
Hall of Famer Glove Poster

Postby wjr953 » September 20th, 2006, 8:57 pm

Bret,